Blog 6- Reflecting on how I’ve changed

While this was not my first study abroad trip with the college of business, and it won’t be the last, I have seen things in Argentina that I wouldn’t have seen on either of the two other trips I will have been lucky enough to have experienced.  It is easy in America to forget what true poverty is, but after 1 day in Argentina, that became impossible.  When we saw that mother washing clothes in the trashcan, while her 2 or 3 babies lay on the mattress on the concrete sidewalk, I couldn’t help but be taken aback for a second by a realization like this.  The sad thing is that Buenos Aires is supposed to be the brightest spot in Argentina, so what we saw was just a drop in the bucket of a country that isn’t even close to being the worst off when it comes to global poverty.  It intensifies the fact that we as Christians need to help in whatever way we are able to at the time.  I have been blessed with my job and have had the opportunity to be fairly active in Kiva over the years and more recently in Heifer International, who is active in Argentina.  I won’t likely forget anytime soon some of the faces on people when we would give them food, or money, and I will do my best to help them, and people like them in the future in the ways that I am able to.

Leave a Reply

