Blog#6 Reflecting on How You’ve Changed

Blog#6 Reflecting on How You’ve Changed

Visiting Argentina was definitely a new and exciting adventure for me.  I never really travel outside of the states so visiting an international country like that was very intriguing and life changing.  Learning about the culture and getting to see some of the daily aspects of Argentine life was an experience that opened my eyes.  It made me realize that I need to travel, experience, and see more of the world.  I need to go see different cultures and look at life from a different point of view!  It’s so easy for us as American to just stay in our own little bubbles and think that our way of life is the best and only way.  That is something that hit me hard while I was in Argentina.  I realized that I haven’t really experienced or thought about how the rest of the world lives.  This is something that I most definitely want to change!

Another life changing part of the trip for me was seeing all the poverty throughout Buenos Aires.  I realize poverty is everywhere, but being in a different environment helped me realize that fact.  I mean I’ve seen poverty in the states, but I had never seen anything quiet like the poverty in Buenos Aires.  Seeing whole families on street corners, sleeping on sidewalks, not having any food or money really struck a cord for me.  I realize now that I’m so blessed beyond measure and that I really have now reason to complain.  Because no matter how big I may think my problems may be their still microscopic compared to less unfortunate of this world.

One last thing, something I won’t easily forget is my experience on the subway.  Getting my phone stolen was a very infuriating but also humbling experience.  It was frustrating because it was unexpected and I honestly never thought it would happen to me.  It was a humbling experience because it helped me realize that I need to be more aware of my surroundings.

Overall I enjoyed my time in Argentina.  I learned a lot about culture, language, and different ways of life.  I’ve learned that I need to be more opened minded to different viewpoints.  My trip to Argentina was “awesome” but it was more then that, it was life changing.  I hope to travel more in the near future in hopes of gaining even more insight on the ways of the world and the people who live in it.

Garrett 

Leave a Reply

