Blog #6 – Reflection on How I’ve Changed

Many people describe studying abroad as a life changing experience, and that is precisely what it was for me. My time in Buenos Aires, Argentina opened my eyes to a part of the world that was previously unknown. Everything is different there from the way people do business to the food they eat and the way they speak. Imagine living on an alien planet without any knowledge about culture or life in general. What would you do? What should you do? How would you react? I asked these same questions in Argentina. I was surprised by how difficult it was to relate to the culture and how much I did not understand. If it were not for the group meetings at the end of each day, I would have been lost. These meetings were very informative about Argentina’s government, trade, economy, and culture. If I were to travel again, I think I would try to research more information before leaving. The more I know about another country, the more likely I am to appreciate the experience.

 

Other than giving me a general knowledge about the business and culture of another country, I have also grown spiritually. While I was there, I think that God definitely influenced my life after seeing children sleeping on the street and mothers washing clothes in trashcans. Now, more than ever, I have a strong desire to start a business that helps people. I have always wanted to be an entrepreneur, but now I feel like I have direction. I realize how blessed I am to be able to afford education, food, and shelter. I can lead my life in any direction. Children in other countries do not have the freedom or the opportunities that my life has given me, so in order to give back, I want to help people. I do not know exactly what I want to do, but I feel that I will learn in time. 

Leave a Reply

